Central Court

About

Each Tuesday of every week, except when a legal holiday, preliminary hearings for all felony and misdemeanor arrests are held in the Jury Assembly Room on the 3rd Floor of the Franklin County Courthouse Annex, 157 Lincoln Way East, Chambersburg, PA.  In the event that a Tuesday is a legal holiday, Central Court is held on the Thursday of the same week.  There are two hearing sessions each Tuesday, one at 8:15 a.m. until 12 Noon and the other at 1:00 p.m. until 4:30 p.m.  

Two Magisterial District Judges are assigned on a rotating schedule to handle each Central Court day.  Central Court in Franklin County was established on January 29, 2001 pursuant to Pa.R.Crim.P. Rule 131(B).    

The initial scheduling of preliminary hearings is the responsibility of the issuing Magisterial District Court.  After scheduling the preliminary hearing the issuing Magisterial District Court will transfer the criminal cases to the Central Court Coordinator for processing.  

The Central Court Coordinator is responsible for monitoring the list of cases set for Central Court and managing the cases scheduled.  Any continuances requested by attorneys, affiants and defendants for preliminary hearings must be submitted in writing, by email or by fax to the issuing Magisterial District Judge.  The issuing Magisterial District Judge will either grant or deny the request after conferring with the District Attorney and/or Defense Attorney.

The following are the dates for Central Court in 2015:

Tuesday, January 06, 2015
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Tuesday, January 20, 2015
Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Tuesday, February 03, 2015
Tuesday, February 10, 2015
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Tuesday, March 03, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Tuesday, March 17, 2015
Tuesday, March 24, 2015
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Tuesday, April 07, 2015
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
Tuesday, April 21, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Tuesday, May 05, 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Tuesday, June 02, 2015
Tuesday, June 09, 2015
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Tuesday, June 23, 2015
Tuesday, June 30, 2015
Tuesday, July 07, 2015
Tuesday, July 14, 2015
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Tuesday, August 04, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Tuesday, September 01, 2015
Tuesday, September 08, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Tuesday, September 29, 2015
Tuesday, October 06, 2015
Tuesday, October 13, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Tuesday, November 03, 2015
Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Tuesday, November 24, 2015
Tuesday, December 01, 2015
Tuesday, December 08, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Tuesday, December 22, 2015
Tuesday, December 29, 2015