# Instructions for Application for License to Carry Firearms **REQUIREMENTS** ...be at least 21 years of age ...Pennsylvania residents must apply in the county that they reside **Applicants Must** ...pass the P.I.C.S. (Pennsylvania Instant Check System administered by the PA State Police) Deposit at time of application: \$ 5.00 When the license is approved: \$ 15.00 Cost **Total Costs:** \$ 20.00 This license is good ONLY in the State of Pennsylvania unless another State has signed an agreement with Pennsylvania and is on record with the Attorney General of Pennsylvania. (www.attorneygeneral.gov) This license may be revoked at any time for due cause, at the discretion of the Franklin County Sheriff. \*\*NOTE - Pursuant to PENNSYLVANIA CRIMES CODE (18 PA C.S.) Section 4105 WARNING effective February 1, 2016 any returned checks will incur a \$50.00 fee. This service charge will be in addition to the amount of your original check. Please fill in the form, beginning with your Last Name. Be sure you list your current street address and a post office box, if applicable. Answer all of the questions on the front side of the form and be sure to sign and date your application on the bottom of form. References may not be family members and you must have their complete name, mailing address and phone number. You must furnish a copy of your entire driver's license. It must be current and match the name and address exactly as you have listed on your application. Please be specific when requesting the type of license you want, multiple check offs are permitted. DO NOT check "Employment" unless you have completed the required training under the LETHAL WEAPONS TRAINING ACT, ACT 2, ACT 120 or similar laws dealing with police officers, guards, etc. You may drop off the application at the office or mail it to the Franklin County Sheriff's Office, 157 Lincoln Way East, Chambersburg, PA 17201. Be sure to include your \$5.00 deposit and a copy of your driver's license. Incomplete applications will be returned. Make any checks payable: FRANKLIN COUNTY SHERIFF The Sheriff has 45 days to process your application. Your information will be checked and you will be notified of the results. Please provide your prefered method of notification: \_\_\_\_\_ email address \_\_ Email\_\_\_ Phone number including area code □Phone\_\_ □U.S. Mail\_ \_ to address listed on this application

Thank you, Sheriff Dane M. Anthony

R	ENE	WΔI	
		VVÆL	· Ш

## COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

## APPLICATION FOR A PENNSYLVANIA LICENSE TO CARRY FIREARMS

FOR USE BY ISSUING AUTHORITY: PICS Temp App. No							PICS Perm. App. No Application Date											
License No Temporary License Approval Date						Permanent License Approval Date												
Rejection Date Reason for Rejection							Signature											
			4.5	DI I	O A NIT INI	ODMATI	) I	VDE	-/DDINI3			0D DL 4.0		17				
1. L/	AST NAME		AP		JR., ETC.	3. FIRST NAM		YPE		MIDDLE N					VER L	ICENSE NO.	6. STATE	
7a. DATE OF BIRTH 7b. PLACE OF BIRTH 8. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Optional)						9. /	AGE	10. SEX	11. RA	CE	12. HEIGHT	13. W	/EIGHT	14. H	IAIR COLOR	15. EYE COLOR		
16. STREET ADDRESS							17. (	CITY	•		18. STATE	19. Z	IP CODE	2	0. HOME TEL	EPHONE NO. -		
21. EMPLOYER/BUSINESS NAME						22. WORK TELEPHONE NO. 23. OCCUPATION												
24 /	ADDRESS							25. C	NITV					26. ST	TE	27. ZIP COI	ne .	
24.7	ADDICESS							25. (	<b>211 1</b>					20. 317	\IL	27. 217 001	JL	
28. F	REASON FOR	A LICE	NSE TO CARRY FIRE	RMS:												ı		
	SELF-DEFE		☐ EMPLOYMEN		HUNTING	/FISHING	TARG	ET SI	HOOTING	☐ GU	IN COL	LECTING	ТО	HER _				
	TWO REFE	RENCE	S - NOT FAMILY M	IEMB	ERS	ADDRESS		TELEPHONE NO.										
L.,																-	-	
N/	AME					ADDRESS								1	ELEPI	HONE NO.	-	
			RMINED TO BE ELIGIB ALING WITH INDIVIDU													M FIREARMS	ACT (18 PA.C.S.	
	, -																	
30. DO YOU MEET ANY OF THE FOLLOWING PROHIBITING CRITERIA UNDER 18 PA.C.S. § 6109(e)(1)? CHECK YES OR NO IN THE BOX BY EACH QUESTION:																		
	A. IS YOUR CHARACTER AND REPUTATION SUCH THAT YOU WOULD BE LIKELY TO ACT IN A MANNER DANGEROUS TO PUBLIC YES NO SAFETY?																	
	B.		YOU EVER BEEN FROLLED SUBSTAN													· —		
		PENN	ISYLVANIA DRUG (	CONV	ICTION UNDE	ER THE CSDD	CA IS PR	OHIB	BITING FO	R A LICEI	NSE TO	O CARRY.)	. 3 0.0	٠(٥)(٠)(١	.,,,	. L Y	ES NO	
	C. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A CRIME ENUMERATED IN § 6105(b), OR DO ANY OF THE CONDITIONS UNDER  § 6105(c) APPLY TO YOU? (READ INFORMATION ON BACK PRIOR TO ANSWERING)  YES NO										ES NO							
	D.		YOU EVER BEEN							ATED IN	§ 610	5 OR FOR A	N OFF	ENSE (	JNDE	R N	ES NO	
	THE CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE, DRUG, DEVICE AND COSMETIC ACT?  E. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN INVOLUNTARILY COMMITTED TO A HOSPITAL/HEALTH CARE FACILITY FOR A MENTAL HEALTH CONDITION OR OTHER TREATMENT, OR ADJUDICATED INCOMPETENT/INCAPACITATED?  YES NO										ES NO							
	E ARE VOLLAN INDIVIDUAL WHO IS A HABITUAL DRUNKARD OR WHO IS ADDICTED TO OR AN UNIVAWEUL LISER OF THE VICE									ES NO								
G. ARE YOU NOW CHARGED WITH, OR HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A CRIME PUNISHABLE BY IMPRISONMENT FOR A																		
TERM EXCEEDING ONE YEAR? THIS IS THE MAXIMUM SENTENCE YOU COULD HAVE RECEIVED, NOT THE ACTUAL SENTENCE YOU DID RECEIVE. (IT DOES NOT INCLUDE FEDERAL OR STATE OFFENSES PERTAINING TO ANTITRUST, UNFAIR YES NO																		
TRADE PRACTICES, RESTRAINTS OF TRADE, OR REGULATION OF BUSINESS; OR STATE OFFENSES CLASSIFIED AS MISDEMEANORS AND PUNISHABLE BY A TERM OF IMPRISONMENT NOT EXCEEDING TWO YEARS.)																		
								ES NO										
<ol> <li>ARE YOU A FUGITIVE FROM JUSTICE? THIS DOES NOT APPLY TITLE 75 (RELATING TO MOTOR VEHICLES).</li> </ol>						Y TO MOVING OR NONMOVING SUMMARY OFFENSES UNDER							R 🗌 YI	ES 🗌 NO				
J. ARE YOU PROHIBITED FROM POSSESSING OR ACQUIRING A FIR						IREARM UNDER THE STATUTES OF THE UNITED STATES?							YI	ES NO				
31. ARE YOU A UNITED STATES CITIZEN? IF NO, COUNTRY OF BIRTH						SISTRATIC	N # OR I	I-94#					□ YI	ES 🗌 NO				
32.	22 IF YOU ARE A RECIPENT OF ANOTHER STATE DO YOU DOOSESS A CHIRENIT LICENSE, REDMIT OR SIMILAR ROCHMENT TO CARRY A								ES NO									
33. I have never been convicted of a crime that prohibits me from possessing or acquiring a firearm under Federal or State law. I am of sound mind and have never been committed to a mental institution or mental health care facility. I hereby certify that the statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that if I knowingly make any false statements herein, I am subject to penalties prescribed by law. I authorize the sheriff, or his designee, or, in the case of first class cities, the chief or head of the police department, or his designee, to inspect only those records or documents relevant to information required for this application. If I am issued a license and knowingly become ineligible to legally possess or acquire firearms, I will promptly notify the sheriff of the county in which I reside or, if I reside in a city of the first class, the chief of police of that city. This certification is made subject to both the penalties of § 4904 of the Crimes Code, 18 Pa.C.S., relating to unsworn falsifications to authorities and the Uniform Firearms Act.																		
SIGNATURE - APPLICANT								DATE	OF APPLI	CATIO	N							

#### Section 6105(a):

Effective November 22, 1995, 18 Pa.C.S. § 6105(a) prohibits persons convicted of any of the following offenses under 18 Pa.C.S. from possessing, using, controlling, transferring, manufacturing, or obtaining a license to possess, use, control, transfer, or manufacture a firearm in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. A conviction includes a finding of guilty or the entering of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, whether or not judgment has been imposed, as determined by the law of the jurisdiction in which the prosecution was held. The term does not include a conviction which has been expunged or overturned or for which an individual has been pardoned unless the pardon expressly provides that the individual may not possess or transport firearms.

not possess or transport firearms.	
Section 6105(b)	
§ 908 Prohibited offensive weapons	§ 3921 Theft by unlawful taking or disposition, upon conviction of the
§ 911 Corrupt organizations	second felony offense
§ 912 Possession of weapon on school property	§ 3923 Theft by extortion, when the offense is accompanied by threats
§ 2502 Murder	of violence
§ 2503 Voluntary manslaughter	§ 3925 Receiving stolen property, upon conviction of the second felony
§ 2504 Involuntary manslaughter, if the offense is based on the	offense
reckless use of a firearm	§ 4906 False reports to law enforcement authorities, if the fictitious
§ 2702 Aggravated assault	report involved the theft of a firearm as provided in 4906(c)(2)
§ 2703 Assault by prisoner	§ 4912 Impersonating a public servant if the person is impersonating a
§ 2704 Assault by life prisoner	law enforcement officer
§ 2709.1 Stalking	§ 4952 Intimidation of witnesses or victims
§ 2716 Weapons of mass destruction	§ 4953 Retaliation against witness, victim or party
§ 2901 Kidnapping	§ 5121 Escape
§ 2902 Unlawful restraint	§ 5122 Weapons or implements for escape
§ 2910 Luring a child into a motor vehicle or structure	§ 5501(3) Riot
§ 3121 Rape	§ 5515 Prohibiting of paramilitary training
§ 3123 Involuntary deviate sexual intercourse	§ 5516 Facsimile weapons of mass destruction
§ 3125 Aggravated indecent assault	§ 6110.1 Possession of firearm by minor
§ 3301 Arson and related offenses	§ 6301 Corruption of minors
§ 3302 Causing or risking catastrophe	§ 6302 Sale or lease of weapons and explosives
§ 3502 Burglary	
§ 3503 Criminal trespass, if the offense is graded a felony of the	Any offense equivalent to any of the above-enumerated offenses under
second degree or higher	the prior laws of this Commonwealth or any offense equivalent to any of
§ 3701 Robbery	the above-enumerated offenses under the statutes of any other state or
§ 3702 Robbery of motor vehicle	of the United States.
Section 6105(c):	

Effective November 22, 1995, 18 Pa.C.S. § 6105(c) also prohibits the following persons from possessing, using, controlling, transferring, manufacturing, or obtaining a license to possess, use, control, transfer, or manufacture a firearm in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

### **ARE YOU A PERSON WHO:**

- 1. is a fugitive from justice; or
- 2. has been convicted of an offense under the act of April 14, 1972 (P.L. 233, No. 64), known as The Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, or any equivalent Federal statute or equivalent statute of any other state, that may be punishable by a term of imprisonment exceeding two years; or
- 3. has been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance as provided in 75 Pa.C.S. § 3802 (relating to driving under influence of alcohol or controlled substance) or the former 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731, on three or more separate occasions within a five-year period. For the purposes of this paragraph only, the prohibition of subsection 6105(a) shall only apply to transfers or purchases of firearms after the third conviction; or
- 4. has been adjudicated as an incompetent or who has been involuntarily committed to a mental institution for inpatient care and treatment under section 302, 303, or 304 of the provisions of the act of July 9, 1976 (P.L. 817, No. 143), known as the Mental Health Procedures Act; or
- 5. being an alien, is illegally or unlawfully in the United States; or
- 6. is the subject of an active protection from abuse order issued pursuant to 23 Pa.C.S. § 6108 (relating to relief), which order provided for the relinquishment of firearms during the period of time the order is in effect. This prohibition shall terminate upon the expiration or vacation of an active protection from abuse order or portion thereof relating to the relinquishment of firearms; or
- 7. was adjudicated delinquent by a court pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 6341 (relating to adjudication) or under any equivalent Federal statute or statute of any other state as a result of conduct which if committed by an adult would constitute an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 2502, 2503, 2702, 2703, 2704, 2901, 3121, 3123, 3301, 3502, 3701, and 3923; or
- 8. was adjudicated delinquent by a court pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 6341 or under any equivalent Federal statute or statute of any other state as a result of conduct which if committed by an adult would constitute an offense enumerated in 18 Pa.C.S. § 6105(b) with the exception of those crimes set forth in paragraph 7. This prohibition shall terminate 15 years after the last applicable delinquent adjudication or upon the person reaching the age of 30, whichever is earlier.
- 9. is prohibited from possessing or acquiring a firearm under 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9) (relating to unlawful acts) who has been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence by a person in any of the following relationships: (i) the current or former spouse, parent or guardian of the victim; (ii) a person with whom the victim shares a child in common; (iii) a person who cohabits with or has cohabited with the victim as a spouse, parent or guardian; or (iv) a person similarly situated to a spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim; then the relationship need not be an element of the offense to meet the requirements of this paragraph.

### PRIVACY ACT NOTICE

Solicitation of this information is authorized under Title 18 Pa.C.S. § 6111. Disclosure of your social security number is voluntary. Your social security number, if provided, may be used to verify your identity and prevent misidentification. All information supplied, including your social security number, is confidential and not subject to public disclosure.