# Franklin County Clerk of Courts

14 North Main Street Chambersburg, Pennsylvania 17201



## MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

Todd A. Rock (717)261-3805 Tel. (717) 264-8474 TDD (717) 261-3896 Fax

#### WHO MUST APPLY

Both individuals must apply at the same time to complete the application for marriage.

#### **AGE REQUIREMENTS**

18 years of age for male and female. Applicants are required to provide identification including a photograph and proof of age. *Social Security # Card is also required.* 

#### WHO MAY NOT MARRY

Blood relatives down to including first cousins, MAY NOT marry under the laws of Pennsylvania.

#### WHEN TO APPLY

At least *three (3) days* prior to the marriage. The marriage license is *valid for 60 days* after applying.

#### WHERE TO APPLY

Office of Todd A. Rock, Clerk of Courts, 1st Floor, New Judicial Center, Chambersburg, Pennsylvania. The ceremony need not be performed in the county in which the license was issued, but MUST be performed in Pennsylvania. The County which issues the license will maintain a permanent, public record of the application and license. OFFICE HOURS, 8:30 – 4:30, Mon. – Fri.

PLEASE BE IN OUR OFFICE BY 4:00 P.M. TO APPLY.

#### **FEES**

The fee for a marriage license varies. (\$55.00) CASH or CREDIT (Surcharge will apply)

### **REMARRIAGES**

Applicants who have been previously married must provide the following information concerning the dissolution of their most recent marriage.

**DIVORCES:** A divorce decree showing the following:

- 1. Month, day and year of Final Decree
- 2. Foreign divorces require an English translation
- 3. Proof of reverting back to prior name

**DEATHS:** The date of death of the deceased spouse. (DEATH CERTIFICATE).

\*To Apply Online: http://franklincountypa.gov (Judicial>Clerk of Courts>Online Marriage License)