Provides supervision for all DUI offenders placed on ARD or sentenced by the Court. Administers and provides logistical support for Alcohol Highway-Safety Program educational programs.
Prepares pre-sentence investigation reports for the court. Completes Court Reporting Network evaluation as required by PA DOT for all DUI offenders.
Supervisor / Kevin Zook (717) 267-1654 ext. 21654
The Franklin County Alcohol Highway-Safety Program provides education classes for DUI offenders as required by the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code, 75 Pa.C.S. §1549 and §6103. Specifically, it provides the following:
• Twelve and one-half (12½) hour classes for both first and multiple DUI offenders intended to impart a basic knowledge and understanding of alcohol and controlled substances and their effects on metabolism and judgment, alcoholism and drug addiction, as well as highway safety, to encourage a positive change in the students’ attitude concerning driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance.
• The relationship of the use of alcohol or controlled substances, or both, to highway safety.
• The effects of the use of alcohol or controlled substances, or both, on social relationships and the family.
• The effects of the use of alcohol or controlled substances, or both, on economic functioning.
• The availability of alcohol and substance abuse programs and counseling.
A person convicted of a first or second offense violation of 75 Pa.C.S. § 3802 (relating to driving under influence of alcohol or controlled substance), or placed on ARD or other preliminary disposition as a result of an alleged violation of 75 Pa.C.S. § 3802, shall be required to attend, pay all costs and successfully complete an approved AHSS program whether it be as a part of sentencing, as a condition of parole or probation or as a part of ARD, in accordance with 75 Pa.C.S. § 3807 (relating to accelerated rehabilitative disposition).
In order to successfully complete the program, a student must:
• Attend all scheduled sessions
• Complete the pre and post class knowledge inventory
• Complete all assigned homework
Pennsylvania law requires that: "...a student may be excused for one component [session] but not the first component [session]..."
Franklin and Fulton County offenders will have the $150.00 cost of the program included in the overall fines/costs/restitution assessed to their case.
Offenders who are referred from other counties or states must pay the cost of the program prior to the start of the first session.
Failure to attend the first session as scheduled without compelling and documented reasons as determined by the DUI Coordinator, requires a reschedule fee equal to the cost of the class.
Make up fee for any unexcused absence is $30.00.