An online application may be filled out prior to the in-person portion of the application process.
PLEASE NOTE: There is a 3-day waiting period in Pennsylvania which begins following the in-person portion of the application process. Licenses are valid for 60 days from the date of issuance.
Based on court cases resulting in conflicting judgments, applicants are advised that persons who have been ordained over the Internet may or may not be persons permitted to perform marriages in Pennsylvania. You are advised to consult an attorney concerning the legality of such marriages.
Disclaimer of Liability
Please be advised: if you choose to be married by someone other than the officiants specifically listed as authorized by Pennsylvania law, the burden of proof will be on you regarding the legality of your marriage should future issues arise that require a determination of the marriage's validity.
Below are instructions and a link to fill out your Franklin County, PA marriage license application online. Please read ALL the instructions before filling out the application.
Please arrive no later than 4:00pm Monday-Friday to the following address:
Clerk of Courts Office,
14 N. Main St.
Chambersburg, PA 17201
Please DO NOT use capital letters when filling out your application.
Things to remember to bring with you:
- ID (License, Birth Certificate, or Passport)
- Proof of SS# (Card or Tax Form)
- Your Marriage License Application Number
- $55.00 filing fee (no personal checks)
- Payment: Cash or Credit Card (Subject to 2.2% Service Charge or a minimum of $1)
- Most Recent Divorce Decree or Death Certificate if applicable
- Proof of reverting back to prior name
Call our office at 717-261-3805 between the hours of 8:30am - 4:30pm, Monday - Friday with any questions.
Click here to fill out an online marriage license.