License to Carry Firearms
Be at least 21 years of age
Be a RESIDENT of Franklin County
Pass the P.I.C.S.(Pennsylvania Instant Check System)administered by the Pennsylvania State Police
$5.00 Deposit at time of application
$15.00 When license is approved
$20.00 Total Costs
Please submit only the $5.00 fee at time of applying because if the full amount of the license fee is received and the application is rejected, there will be a significant delay in the refunding of the balance of funds received.
**NOTE – Pursuant to PENNSYLVANIA CRIMES CODE (18 PA C.S.) Section 4105 effective February 1, 2016 any returned checks will incur a $50.00 fee. This service charge will be in addition to the amount of your original check.
This License is good ONLY in the State of PENNSYLVANIA unless another State has signed an agreement with Pennsylvania and is on record with the Attorney General of Pennsylvania.
This License can be revoked at any time if you become involved in a Police Incident where the Officer believes that your actions show you to be reckless or careless with a weapon…or if you are charged with a violation of the law which prevented you from originally obtaining a License. The power to revoke this License is vested in the Sheriff who issued it.
Please fill in the form, beginning with your Last Name. Be sure you list your STREET ADDRESS, not a Post Office Box. Answer all of the questions on the front side of the form and be sure to sign and date your application on the bottom of the form.
A complete photo copy of your driver's license is acceptable for attachment to your application The accompanying sheet listing conditions of Section 6105(b) must be submitted with the application to be accepted for processing.
Please be specific when requesting the type of license you want…multiple check offs are OK. When checking “Self Defense” please give a short statement under “Other” to explain why this category is needed… (Example:“Carry money home from business” or “Transport gun from business to home”)
DO NOT check “Employment” unless you have completed the required training under the LETHAL WEAPONS TRAINING ACT, ACT 2, ACT 120 or similar laws dealing with police officers, guards, etc.
You may drop off the application at the office or mail it to the Sheriff’s Office, but be sure and include your $5.00 deposit. The accompanying sheet listing conditions of Section 6105(b) must be submitted with application to be accepted for processing.
Pistol permit processing hours are from 8:30 am to 4:15 pm, Monday - Friday
Make checks payable to:
FRANKLIN COUNTY SHERIFF
157 Lincoln Way East
Chambersburg, PA 17201
Phone (717) 261-3877
The Sheriff has 45 days to process your application. Your information will be checked and you will be notified by phone or mail of the results.