March 27, 2018

Employee of the Year and SERVICE Values Recipients

The Franklin County Commissioners recently honored employees at “An Evening Amongst the Stars,” the inaugural Franklin County Government Awards Banquet. On February 23rd, the STAR (Special Thanks And Recognition) Committee hosted the event which highlighted the 2017 Employee of the Year as well as the Division Leaders’ SERVICE Values recipients. 87 employees attended the event.

Every month, Franklin County Government employees nominate peers for the STAR Employee of the Month, stating a recent event or occurrence and individual characteristics that illustrate why the nominee is deserving of the award. The STAR Committee then votes on the monthly submissions. “The STAR Committee is a dedicated and fun-loving group who truly live up to the expectations of the program,” stated Tiffany Bloyer, Human Resources Director. The 2017 Employee of the Year was selected from the monthly award winners listed here:

January: Noah Kinney, Communications Shift Supervisor, Department of Emergency Services;
February: Andrew Carter, Deputy Sheriff Sergeant, Sheriff’s Department
March: John Thierwechter, Director, Department of Emergency Services
April: Beth Radcliffe, Aging Care Supervisor I, Franklin County Area on Agency
May: Stephanie Craig, Administrative Assistant II, to the Human Resources Director
June: Joyce Gentry, Department Clerk II, for Clerk of Courts, Todd Rock
July: Dawn deSalis, Administrative Assistant II, Property Management
August: Tabitha Souders, Prison Record Specialist, Jail Administration
September: Kimberly Mills, Administrative Assistant II, Commissioners’ Complex
October: Joshua Burleigh, Telecommunications Specialist, Information Services Department
November: Rebekah Laws, Application Support Specialist, Information Services Department
December: Randy Clendening, Correctional Officer, Franklin County Jail

Rebekah Laws, Application Support Specialist, Information Services Department, was honored as the 2017 Franklin County Employee of the Year! Congratulations to a well-deserving, highly-dedicated and invaluable asset to the employees and residents in Franklin County.Rebekah Laws with Commissioners

Franklin County’s Core Values which, as an acronym, spell S-E-R-V-I-C-E, were also a focus of the evening. For the first time, employees whose time and talents exemplify those core values were also honored at the banquet.

SERVICE Award WinnersHere is the complete list of the 2017 SERVICE Values Recipients:

Stewardship - John Hart, Chief Clerk, County Administrator
Employees - Loretta McClure, Risk Manager
Responsiveness - Jessica Sterner Lensbower, Director of Inmate Management, Jail Administration
Visibility - Julia Lehman, Grants/CJAB Coordinator
Integrity - Jacob Crider, Assistant Director of the Department of Emergency Services/Emergency Management Coordinator
Continuous Improvement - Justin McHenry, Archive Director, Information Services Department;
Engagement - Cori Seilhamer, Program Specialist, Mental Health/Intellectual Disabilities Administration.

The evening began with a welcome introduction by STAR Committee member, Dawn deSalis. The STAR Committee is comprised of individuals from various departments within the County and is involved in helping to create comradery amongst the employees as well as recognition for hard work and dedication. Other STAR Committee members in attendance were Bonnie Zeis, Josh Burleigh, Jodi Martin, Charles Martin, Tammy Heckman, Amy DeWalt and Tiffany Bloyer. Janelle Friese and Rochelle Barvinchack were unable to attend. The STAR Committee hosts events and fundraisers to offset the costs of activities and programs they sponsor. A few of the various events hosted by STAR include: bus trips to New York City and the Cherry Blossom Festival in Washington, DC; County-wide Holiday Breakfasts in December; Breakfast and Photos with the Bunny in the spring; Discounted HersheyPark Tickets; the County Employee Ben Bucks program and the annual STAR Mixer, which is always a fabulous time!

An invocation was given by Deputy Warden James Sullen, followed by a delicious meal and scrumptious desserts prepared by Tabitha Souders, the August Employee of the Month. Photographs were taken by Michelle Davis, a County employee from Jail Administration.

Commissioner Robert Ziobrowski introduced each of the Division Leaders: Carrie Gray, County Administrator; Steve Nevada, Assistant County Administrator; Warden Bill Bechtold; Kurt Hoffeditz, Chief Information Officer; Phil Tarquino, Planning Director; Stacie Horvath, Human Services Administrator; Teresa Beckner, Fiscal Director and Tiffany Bloyer, Human Resources Director. Commissioner Ziobrowksi commended them for their positive initiatives and forethought in honing a standard set of core values, and an aptly named acronym S-E-R-V-I-C-E, for our County’s workforce.

Commissioner Dave Keller spoke of the importance of the Employee of the Month program as well as the diligence in creating a culture focused on the Mission, Vision, and especially Values.

Commissioner Bob Thomas applauded the efforts of the STAR Committee, as well as each of the Employees of the Month and the SERVICE recipients recognized. “The Division leaders did a fine job on their selections.”


Return to list.